FR / ES / IT

inspirée
par
nature

inspirée
par
nature

_A century and a half of history

Key Dates

     
1875

Founding of the cooperage by Henry Baron.

1900

Passing of the business to the second generation of the family, Samuel Baron.

     
1930

Passing of the business to the third generation of the family, Louis and Maurice Baron.

     
1975

Passing of the business to the fourth generation of the family, Francois Baron.

     
1996

Passing of the business to the fifth generation, Xavier Baron and Nicolas Tombu.

     
1999

Invention of the OXOline barrel racking system.

     
2001

Arrival of our third associate, Lionel Kreff.

     
2002

Beginning of distribution to the USA, awarding of the Innovatiton Trophy at Vinitech for OXOline.

     
2003

Invention of Vinification Integrale – Beginning of distribution to Spain.

     
2004

Beginning of distribution to South America.

     
2005

Beginning of distribution to South Africa.

     
2006

Birth of the Culte barrel – Beginning of distribution in Bulgaria.

     
2007

New distribution network in Italy.

     
2009

Inauguration of the workshop of Tonnellerie Baron – Arrival of our fourth associate Sebastian Lane – Startup of our new stavemill, Grand Chêne®.

     
2010

Beginning of distribution in Portugal and Australia

     
2014

Startup of our exclusive computer toast tracking procedure. Guaranteed minimum conformity to our toast standard of 90% from barrel to barrel.

     
2015

Tonnellerie Baron celebrates 140 years since its establishment. The Culte 140 barrel is unveiled as a limited edition commemorative edition to mark the occassion.

     
2017

Inauguration of new cooper locker rooms, commercial kitchen and reception hall.

     
2018

An environmental initiative is established whereby one oak sapling is planted for each barrel sold, a one hectacre biodiversity refuge adjacent to the seasoning yards is installed, and electric vehicles are provided for coopers to communte from work to home during the workweek.

     
2019

Tonnellerie Baron installs the first phase of solar panels which will eventually provide 100% of the required electrical needs of the business by renewable sources.

     
2020

Tonnellerie Baron envisions reaching green power generation equal to its consumption, or about 350kWhc.

;

Key dates

     

1875

Founding of the cooperage by Henry Baron.


1900

Passing of the business to the second generation of the family, Samuel Baron.


     

1930

Passing of the business to the third generation of the family, Louis and Maurice Baron.


     

1975

Passing of the business to the fourth generation of the family, Francois Baron.


     

1996

Passing of the business to the fifth generation, Xavier Baron and Nicolas Tombu.


     

1999

Invention of the OXOline barrel racking system.


     

2001

Arrival of our third associate, Lionel Kreff.


     

2002

Beginning of distribution to the USA, awarding of the Innovatiton Trophy at Vinitech for OXOline.


     

2003

Invention of Vinification Integrale – Beginning of distribution to Spain.


     

2004

Beginning of distribution to South America.


     

2005

Beginning of distribution to South Africa.


     

2006

Birth of the Culte barrel – Beginning of distribution in Bulgaria.


     

2007

New distribution network in Italy.


     

2009

Beginning of distribution to South Africa.

     

2010

Beginning of distribution in Portugal and Australia


     

2014

Startup of our exclusive computer toast tracking procedure. Guaranteed minimum conformity to our toast standard of 90% from barrel to barrel.


2015

Tonnellerie Baron celebrates 140 years since its establishment. The Culte 140 barrel is unveiled as a limited edition commemorative edition to mark the occassion.


2017

Inauguration of new cooper locker rooms, commercial kitchen and reception hall.


2018

An environmental initiative is established whereby one oak sapling is planted for each barrel sold, a one hectacre biodiversity refuge adjacent to the seasoning yards is installed, and electric vehicles are provided for coopers to communte from work to home during the workweek.


2019

Tonnellerie Baron installs the first phase of solar panels which will eventually provide 100% of the required electrical needs of the business by renewable sources.


2020

Tonnellerie Baron envisions reaching green power generation equal to its consumption, or about 350kWhc.

Founded by Henri Baron in 1875, Tonnellerie Baron is situated near the town of Saintes in the Charente-Maritime department, on the original site of its founding, still maintaining the historic craft of coopering in its purest traditional methods. Located in the heart of the celebrated vineyards of Cognac, the artisanal workshop works in service to the most prestigious global vineyard properties.

Recognized for its creativity and capacity to innovate, Tonnellerie Baron occupies a unique position, exclusive and avant-garde among French Cooperages. An independent and family owned cooperage, the cooperage is a living history of men and women dedicated to their craft and terroir.

The terroir of the Charente provides a unique balance of sunshine and humidity that is particularly favorable for the aging of oak in our seasoning yards, and serves us well in the production of barrels, puncheons, and foudres of many sizes and shapes.

The necessary time required for each step in the production process requires patience and reflection. Tonnellerie Baron is inspired by its customers, artisan vignerons from around the world, to support their wines and assist them in giving their purest expression.

« Inspiration comes from observation of nature and the forest, but also from the knowledge of vignerons and their needs. »

Xavier Baron

Co-Manager

_ Our Values

« Our convictions guide us towards an environmental policy that is permanent, to guarantee the longevity and quality of our products, and also the work of the men and women who produce them. »

Nicolas Tombu

Co-Manager

 

« The absolute knowledge of our raw materials, the mastery of each step of our production process, and our total independence ; these factors allow us to defend our bold convictions, form the foundation of our philosophy, and its transmission. »  

Lionel Kreff

Co-Manager

     
01

QUALITY and TRACEABILITY

Each step in the production process, from the splitting of the staves, to the final finishes of the barrel, are integrated in our workshop. With our family experience, we choose the most beautiful oaks in the French forests, and offer our clients a range of products utilizing the hand split oak. The softness of the climate in the Charente, with an ideal balance of sunshine and humidity, perfectly seasons the fine oak staves. Three summers are required for the necessary chemical and physical transformations of the staves before they are ready for coopering. Our coopers, all graduates of the cooper school in Cognac, then balance the perfect doses of fire and water in order to provide a toast profile which matches our customers’ requirements. In order to contribute to the sustainable management of forest resources, Tonnellerie Baron respects the strict rules set forth by the international PEFC program. This certification offers our customers an assurance on the origin of the wood, and also testifies to our concern for transparency and preservation of the environment. Through this approach, Tonnellerie Baron guarantees uniterrupted monitoring of certified raw material from the forest to the customer.

02

CREATIVITY and INNOVATION

Recognized for its creativity and ability to innovate as demonstrated by OXOline and Vinification Integrale, along with the excellence of its coopers, Tonnellerie Baron occupies an exclusive and avant-garde position amongst French coopers. Our integrated design office develops solutions and invests in research to ensure excellence in our production flow and exceptional reproducability in our toasting protocols.

     
03

INSPIRATION and ENVIRONNEMENT

Going through the forests for the selection of our oaks throughout the year, we feel fully concerned by their renewal and ensuring their preservation as part of our heritage and legacy, as well as for biodiversity. For those reasons, we chose in 2018 to replant 1 oak for each barrel we produced, or about 15 000 trees per year. The history of an oak is written over several centuries, our lifetimes must not compromise the future of our business or the preservation of our forests.

 
;
 

3 core values

 

QUALITY and TRACEABILITY

Each step in the production process, from the splitting of the staves, to the final finishes of the barrel, are integrated in our workshop. With our family experience, we choose the most beautiful oaks in the French forests, and offer our clients a range of products utilizing the hand split oak.
The softness of the climate in the Charente, with an ideal balance of sunshine and humidity, perfectly seasons the fine oak staves.
Three summers are required for the necessary chemical and physical transformations of the staves before they are ready for coopering. Our coopers, all graduates of the cooper school in Cognac, then balance the perfect doses of fire and water in order to provide a toast profile which matches our customers’ requirements.
In order to contribute to the sustainable management of forest resources, Tonnellerie Baron respects the strict rules set forth by the international PEFC program.
This certification offers our customers an assurance on the origin of the wood, and also testifies to our concern for transparency and preservation of the environment. Through this approach, Tonnellerie Baron guarantees uninterrupted monitoring of certified raw material from the forest to the customer.

CREATIVITY and INNOVATION

Recognized for its creativity and ability to innovate as demonstrated by OXOline and Vinification Integrale, along with the excellence of its coopers, Tonnellerie Baron occupies an exclusive and avant-garde position amongst French coopers.
Our integrated design office develops solutions and invests in research to ensure excellence in our production flow and exceptional reproducability in our toasting protocols.

INSPIRATION and ENVIRONNEMENT

Going through the forests for the selection of our oaks throughout the year, we feel fully concerned by their renewal and ensuring their preservation as part of our heritage and legacy, as well as for biodiversity.
For those reasons, we chose in 2018 to replant 1 oak for each barrel we produced, or about 15 000 trees per year. The history of an oak is written over several centuries, our lifetimes must not compromise the future of our business or the preservation of our forests.

« The absolute knowledge of our raw materials, the mastery of each step of our production process, and our total independence ; these factors allow us to defend our bold convictions, form the foundation of our philosophy, and its transmission. »  

Lionel kreff

Co-Manager

« The trust of our clients strengthens our creativity and makes us more demanding of ourselves to progress more each day. »

Sébastien Lane

Co-Manager

The coopers in the workshop of Tonnellerie Baron sustain the elegance and finesse of the art of cooperage. A historic craft, artistic and emotional, which sublimates each barrel as a collective work that exemplify the standards of Tonnellerie Baron.

Aware of the fact that its staff is the heart of the company, Tonnellerie Baron gives priority to the training of its coopers. In the workshops, the production processes are constantly improved and many skills are developed and modified regularly to ensure quality of the highest standards.

EN / ES / IT

inspirée
par
nature

inspirée
par
nature

_ Un siècle et demi d’histoire

Dates clés

     
1875

Création de la Tonnellerie par Henry Baron.

1900

Reprise de l’entreprise familiale par la deuxième génération, Samuel Baron.

     
1930

Reprise de l’entreprise familiale par la troisième génération, Louis et Maurice Baron.

     
1975

Reprise de l’entreprise familiale par la quatrième génération, François Baron.

     
1996

Reprise de l’entreprise familiale par la cinquième génération, Xavier Baron et Nicolas Tombu.

     
1999

Invention des supports de barrique OXOline.

     
2001

Arrivée d’un troisième associé Lionel Kreff.

     
2002

Début de la distribution aux USA – Obtention du trophée d’or de l’innovation Vinitech pour OXOline.

     
2003

Invention de la Vinification Intégrale® - Début de la distribution en Espagne.

     
2004

Nouveau réseau de distribution en Amérique du Sud.

     
2005

Naissance de la barrique Premium – Début de la distribution en Afrique du Sud.

     
2006

Naissance de la barrique Culte® - Début de la distribution en Bulgarie.

     
2007

Nouveau réseau de distribution en Italie.

     
2009

Inauguration des nouveaux ateliers de la Tonnellerie Baron – Arrivée d’un quatrième associé Sébastian Lane – Mise en route de la nouvelle merranderie Grand Chêne®.

     
2010

Début de la distribution au Portugal et en Australie.

     
2014

Mise en place d’un procédé exclusif de suivi des chauffes par ordinateur. La reproductibilité des chauffes d’une barrique à l’autre est optimale et garantie à 90% minimum.

     
2015

La Tonnellerie Baron célèbre ses 140 ans d’existence. La barrique Culte 140, pièce commémorative en édition limitée est dévoilée.

     
2017

Inauguration de nouveaux vestiaires, réfectoire et salle de réception.

     
2018

Un plan RSE est mis en place avec plantation d’un chêne par fût produit, création d’un site de biodiversité et refuge LPO de 1 ha autour des parcs à merrains et mise à disposition de véhicules électriques pour les trajets domicile – travail des Tonneliers et Merrandiers.

     
2019

La Tonnellerie Baron installe une première tranche de panneaux photovoltaïques sur son site de production et est alimentée par un fournisseur 100% énergies renouvelables.

     
2020

La Tonnellerie Baron ambitionne une production d’électricité verte de 350 kWhc équivalente à sa consommation.

;

Dates clés

     

1875

Création de la Tonnellerie par Henry Baron.


1900

Reprise de l’entreprise familiale par la deuxième génération, Samuel Baron.


     

1930

Reprise de l’entreprise familiale par la troisième génération, Louis et Maurice Baron.


     

1975

Reprise de l’entreprise familiale par la quatrième génération, François Baron.


     

1996

Reprise de l’entreprise familiale par la cinquième génération, Xavier Baron (directeur de production) et Nicolas Tombu (directeur développement).


     

1999

Invention des supports de barrique OXOline.


     

2001

Arrivée d’un troisième associé Lionel Kreff (directeur commercial).


     

2002

Début de la distribution aux USA – Obtention du trophée d’or de l’innovation Vinitech pour OXOline.


     

2003

Invention de la Vinification Intégrale® – Début de la distribution en Espagne.


     

2004

Nouveau réseau de distribution en Amérique du Sud.


     

2005

Naissance de la barrique Premium – Début de la distribution en Afrique du Sud.


     

2006

Naissance de la barrique Culte® – Début de la distribution en Bulgarie.


     

2007

Nouveau réseau de distribution en Italie.


     

2009

Naissance de la barrique Premium – Début de la distribution en Afrique du Sud.

     

2010

Début de la distribution au Portugal et en Australie.


     

2014

Mise en place d’un procédé exclusif de suivi des chauffes par ordinateur. La reproductibilité des chauffes d’une barrique à l’autre est optimale.


2015

La Tonnellerie Baron célèbre ses 140 ans d’existence. La barrique Culte 140, pièce commémorative en édition limitée est dévoilée.


2017

Inauguration de nouveaux vestiaires, réfectoire et salle de réception.


2018

Un plan RSE est mis en place avec plantation d’un chêne par fût produit, création d’un site de biodiversité et refuge LPO de 1 ha autour des parcs à merrains et mise à disposition de véhicules électriques pour les trajets domicile – travail des Tonneliers et Merrandiers.


2019

La Tonnellerie Baron installe une première tranche de panneaux photovoltaïques sur son site de production et est alimentée par un fournisseur 100% énergies renouvelables.


2020

La Tonnellerie Baron ambitionne une production d’électricité verte de 350 kWhc équivalente à sa consommation.

Créée en 1875 par Henri Baron, la tonnellerie Baron implantée près de Saintes en Charente-Maritime, sur son site historique, entretient le savoir-faire ancestral du métier de tonnelier dans sa plus pure tradition. Située en plein cœur du célèbre vignoble du Cognac, son atelier artisanal est au service des propriétés viticoles les plus prestigieuses.

Reconnue pour sa créativité et sa capacité à innover, la Tonnellerie Baron occupe une place originale, exclusive et avant-gardiste dans le cercle de la tonnellerie française. Maison familiale et indépendante, elle écrit génération après génération une histoire de femmes et d’hommes attachés à leur métier et à leur terroir.

Le terroir, c’est celui de Charente, dont le climat bienveillant assure un ensoleillement et une hygrométrie particulièrement favorables au séchage des merrains qui serviront à produire barriques, fûts, demi-muids et autres foudres.

Le temps nécessaire à chacune des étapes de fabrication, invite à la patience et à la réflexion. La Tonnellerie Baron est guidée par ses clients, artisans vignerons du monde entier, pour amener le vin vers sa plus pure expression.

« L’inspiration nous vient de l’observation de la nature et de la forêt, mais aussi de la connaissance des vignerons et de leurs préoccupations. »

Xavier Baron

Co-gérant

_ Nos valeurs

« Nos convictions nous guident vers une politique environnementale qui s’inscrit dans le temps, pour garantir la pérennité et la qualité de nos produits et celle du travail des hommes qui les fabriquent. »

Nicolas Tombu

Co-gérant

 

« La parfaite connaissance de nos matières premières, la maîtrise de chacun des gestes, notre indépendance totale, nous permettent de défendre d’audacieuses convictions, fondements de notre philosophie et de sa transmission. »  

Lionel Kreff

Co-gérant

     
01

QUALITÉ ET TRAÇABILITÉ

Chaque étape de fabrication, de la fente du chêne à la finition de la barrique, est intégrée au sein de nos ateliers. Forts de notre expérience familiale, nous choisissons les plus beaux chênes des forêts françaises afin de proposer à notre clientèle une vaste gamme de produits uniquement en chêne fendu. La douceur de notre climat charentais confère ensuite à l'ensemble de notre parc à bois une hygrométrie et un ensoleillement idéal à l'obtention d'un bois irréprochable. Trois étés sont alors nécessaires aux transformations chimiques et physiques de nos merrains. Nos tonneliers, tous diplômés de l'école de tonnellerie de Cognac, dosent alors savamment le feu et l'eau afin d'obtenir un niveau de chauffe en parfaite corrélation avec vos exigences. Afin de contribuer à la gestion durable des ressources forestières, la Tonnellerie Baron s'engage à respecter les règles strictes fixées par le programme international PEFC. Cette certification offre à nos clients une assurance sur l’origine du bois, et témoigne aussi de notre souci de transparence et de préservation de l’environnement. Par cette démarche, la Tonnellerie Baron garantit un suivi ininterrompu des matières premières certifiées depuis la parcelle jusqu'au client final.

02

CRÉATIVITÉ ET INNOVATION

Reconnue pour sa créativité, sa capacité à innover avec OXOline et Vinification Intégrale et l’excellence de ses artisans, La Tonnellerie Baron occupe une place originale, exclusive et avant-gardiste dans le cercle de la Tonnellerie Française. Notre bureau d’étude intégré développe les solutions et investit en recherche et innovation pour garantir une précision exemplaire dans l’usinage des bois, l’optimisation des flux de production et la reproductibilité des chauffes.

     
03

INSPIRATION ET ENVIRONNEMENT

Parcourant les forêts pour la sélection de nos chênes tout au long de l’année, nous nous sentons pleinement concernés par leur renouvellement et la poursuite de l’héritage patrimonial et de biodiversité. Pour cela nous choisissons dès 2018 de replanter 1 chêne pour chaque barrique produite soit environ 15 000 arbres par an. L’Histoire d’un chêne s’écrit sur plusieurs siècles, notre passage ne doit pas compromettre l’avenir de notre métier et la préservation de nos forêts.

 
;
 

3 valeurs fondamentales

 

QUALITÉ ET TRAÇABILITÉ

Chaque étape de fabrication, de la fente du chêne à la finition de la barrique, est intégrée au sein de nos ateliers. Forts de notre expérience familiale, nous choisissons les plus beaux chênes des forêts françaises afin de proposer à notre clientèle une vaste gamme de produits uniquement en chêne fendu.
La douceur de notre climat charentais confère ensuite à l’ensemble de notre parc à bois une hygrométrie et un ensoleillement idéal à l’obtention d’un bois irréprochable. Trois étés sont alors nécessaires aux transformations chimiques et physiques de nos merrains.
Nos tonneliers, tous diplômés de l’école de tonnellerie de Cognac, dosent alors savamment le feu et l’eau afin d’obtenir un niveau de chauffe en parfaite corrélation avec vos exigences.
Afin de contribuer à la gestion durable des ressources forestières, la Tonnellerie Baron s’engage à respecter les règles strictes fixées par le programme international PEFC.
Cette certification offre à nos clients une assurance sur l’origine du bois, et témoigne aussi de notre souci de transparence et de préservation de l’environnement.
Par cette démarche, la Tonnellerie Baron garantit un suivi ininterrompu des matières premières certifiées depuis la parcelle jusqu’au client final.

CRÉATIVITÉ ET INNOVATION

Reconnue pour sa créativité, sa capacité à innover avec OXOline et Vinification Intégrale et l’excellence de ses artisans, La Tonnellerie Baron occupe une place originale, exclusive et avant-gardiste dans le cercle de la Tonnellerie Française.
Notre bureau d’étude intégré développe les solutions et investit en recherche et innovation pour garantir une précision exemplaire dans l’usinage des bois, l’optimisation des flux de production et la reproductibilité des chauffes.

INSPIRATION ET ENVIRONNEMENT

Parcourant les forêts pour la sélection de nos chênes tout au long de l’année, nous nous sentons pleinement concernés par leur renouvellement et la poursuite de l’héritage patrimonial et de biodiversité.
Pour cela nous choisissons dès 2018 de replanter 1 chêne pour chaque barrique produite soit environ 15 000 arbres par an.
L’Histoire d’un chêne s’écrit sur plusieurs siècles, notre passage ne doit pas compromettre l’avenir de notre métier et la préservation de nos forêts.

« La parfaite connaissance de nos matières premières, la maîtrise de chacun des gestes, notre indépendance totale, nous permettent de défendre d’audacieuses convictions, fondements de notre philosophie et de sa transmission. »  

Lionel Kreff

Co-gérant

« La confiance de nos clients renforce notre créativité, notre exigence et nous fait progresser au quotidien. »

Sébastien Lane

Co-gérant

Les Hommes de la Tonnellerie Baron nourrissent dans leurs ateliers la finesse et l’élégance de cet art à caractère unique qu’est celui de la tonnellerie. Un patrimoine historique, artistique et affectif qui sublime chaque barrique en une oeuvre collective d’artisans formés aux exigences de la maison.

Consciente du fait que son personnel est le cœur de l’entreprise, la Tonnellerie Baron donne la priorité à la formation de ses artisans. Au sein des ateliers, les processus de production sont constamment améliorés et plusieurs compétences sont développées et mises à jour régulièrement afin de garantir une très haute qualité.